UA Professor Wins Hydrology's "Nobel Prize"

Ed Stiles
April 7, 2006

Professor Jim Shuttleworth has been awarded what is sometimes referred to as the "Nobel Prize for hydrological science and engineering."

The prestigious International Hydrology Prize (IHP) is awarded each year to a hydrologist "who has made an outstanding contribution to hydrology such as confers on the candidate universal recognition of his or her international stature." The awardee's work should have an "identifiable international dimension extending beyond both the country of normal work and the specific field of interest of the candidate."

Shuttleworth is a professor of Hydrology and Water Resources (HWR) at The University of Arizona and director of UA's center for Sustainability of semi-Arid Hydrology and Riparian Areas (SAHRA). He joined UA in 1993 and holds a joint appointment in HWR and the Department of Atmospheric Science.

The IHP is given by the International Association of Hydrological Sciences (IAHS) together with representatives from UNESCO's International Hydrology Program, and the Hydrology and Water Resource Program of the World Meteorological Office.

"I am still recovering from the amazing news that I have received this prize," Shuttleworth said. "I am humbled by the honor that this unique international award represents. It makes my lifetime's work within hydrology worthwhile."

"In reality, this award, although given to an individual, is actually better taken as international recognition of the outstanding quality of hydrological science and engineering on the UA campus," Shuttleworth said. "I am proud to belong to a department that is recognized as number one in water science and engineering in thenation. UA is widely recognized as the nation's 'water campus.'"

Shuttleworth will receive the prize in Paris during the Intergovernmental Council for the International Hydrology Program in July.

His nomination for the prize was supported by the national representatives within IAHS, who are from countries representing every continent. The Prize citation recognizes Shuttleworth "for his innovative international leadership over more than thirty years, contributing to the growth of hydrology into a major discipline of Earth System Science."

The IHP has been awarded for 25 years and has been given to just five U.S. hydrologists in that time.

"It is a source of immense pride that my name will now join a list of names that includes such giants of U.S. hydrology as Walter Langbein and Pete Eagleson and giants of international hydrology as Jim Dooge and Uri Shamir," Shuttleworth said.


Resources for the media

Jim Shuttleworth
Professor of Hydrology and Water Resources
Director of SAHRA
(520) 419-2752