UA Law Professor Awarded International Honor

Julieta Gonzalez
May 7, 2001

The World Technology Network (WTN) in London has nominated a University of Arizona law professor for its 2001 Award for Law.

Boris Kozolchyk is the founder and director of the National Law Center for Inter-American Free Trade (NLCIFT) and is the Evo DeConcini Professor of Law at the James E. Rogers College of Law.

Professor Kozolchyk has written and edited several books in the area of international transactions, including "Commercial Letters of Credit in the Americas" and "Towards Seamless Borders: Making Free Trade Work In The Americas."

In 1988, the National University of Mexico inducted Professor Kozolchyk into their Hall of Fame of Great Commercial Law Teachers.

Professor Kozolchyk is the past president of the International Academy of Commercial and Consumer Law. He represented the United States in the International Chamber of Commerce for the Revision of the Uniform Customs and Practices for Documentary Credits. He also represents the United States on the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law.

He has received awards from the U. S. Departments of State and Justice, the United Nations and the Costa Rican Supreme Court, and received the Best Book Award from the InterAmerican Bar Association and from the government of Spain.

Kozolchyk teaches a number of subjects, including Comparative Law, Commercial Law, International Transactions and Law and Economic Development and Jurisprudence. Since 1992, he has been the President and Director of the National Law Center for Inter- American Free Trade.

The World Technology Awards identify the most innovative people world-wide and honor those who are involved in work of long-term significance for business and society. Finalists and award winners will be announced in London on July 2, 2001 during the World Technology Summit and World Technology Awards ceremony. The Summit will be held on the campus of Imperial College of Science, Technology and Industry. The awards presentation will be held at the United Kingdom's Museum of Science and Industry on the final evening of the Summit. The Summit will be conducted in association with NASDAQ; Business Week; CNBC and Nature.

WTN is composed of technologists, financiers, marketers, journalists and policy makers who have a role in making technological concepts come to fruition. The Network tries to increase what it describes as "happy accidents," which can occur when cutting-edge ideas, entrepreneurial individuals and visionary institutions collide to create innovation. Members include Steve Jobs of Apple; John Chambers of Cisco and Masayoshi Son of Softbank. A complete list of laureates can be found on the WTN web site .

The NLCIFT has been in operation since 1992. It has worked toward fostering trade and investment in the Western Hemisphere by harmonizing laws and practices. A recent conference sponsored by the NLCIFT in cooperation with the Organization of American States and the Inter-American Development Bank focused on facilitating cross-border secured loans and related contracts. Issues related to e-commerce, including transportation were addressed as well.


Resources for the media