Six Wildcats All-Pac-10 Football Picks

Arizona Athletics
Dec. 5, 2007

The University of Arizona placed four players on the first-team All-Pacific-10 Conference Football squad, with senior cornerback Antoine Cason, senior linebacker Spencer Larsen, junior receiver Mike Thomas and freshman punter Keenyn Crier each earning the honor.

Sophomore offensive tackle Eben Britton and senior defensive tackle Lionel Dotson earned second-team honors. Arizona players cited for honorable mention included junior quarterback Willie Tuitama, freshman tight end Rob Gronkowski, junior placekicker Jason Bondzio, senior defensive end Jason Parker and senior offensive tackle Peter Graniello.

Cason repeated as a first-team selection, while Larsen moved up from the second-team honors he received a year ago. Thomas, Dotson and Britton were honorable mention picks in 2006. The four first-team picks are the most for Arizona since 1998.

Thomas is the first Wildcat offensive player selected to the first-team since Bobby Wade, also a receiver, earned the distinction in 2002. Larsen follows Lance Briggs (2000-2002) as a Wildcat linebacker selected to the first team. Crier is the second consecutive Wildcat to earn first-team punter honors, succeeding current Dallas Cowboys placekicker Nick Folk, and is Arizona's first freshman to earn first-team All-Pac-10 honors.

Oregon quarterback Dennis Dixon has been selected Pac-10 Offensive Player of the Year, USC nose tackle Sedrick Ellis is the Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year, Washington quarterback Jake Locker is the Freshman of the Year and Dennis Erickson of Arizona State is the Pac-10 Coach of the Year. The award winners are selected by the Pac-10 head football coaches.