SBS Chooses First Magellan Circle Scholars

UA News Services
Feb. 16, 2005

The College of Social and Behavioral Sciences (SBS) at the University of Arizona has named 12 students as Magellan Circle Scholars for 2004-2005. These are exceptional undergraduates who have exhibited both financial need and academic excellence.

SBS started the Magellan Circle in 2004 to recognize donors who contribute $1,000 a year or more to the college. The Magellan Circle currently has more than 50 members. The money raised from their contributions goes to the Dean's Fund for Excellence, which supports student travel, visiting scholars, faculty research and excellence-in-teaching awards.

Patrons also contribute an additional $500, which established a Magellan Circle Scholarship. Magellan Circle Patrons include: Michael Bonine, Donald and Marilyn Braun, Earl and Louise Carroll, Michael Chihak, Jerry and Sandra DeGrazia, Richard and Mary Rose Duffield, Mary Goodman, Pam Grissom, Peter and Patricia Likins, Charles and Patricia Pettis, Jacqueline Sharkey and William Wing, and Donald and Luda Soldwedel.

For more information on each student, go to:

"These students are not only excelling in their studies and working hard to support themselves through college, but they are also involved in the community and showing an impressive vision for the their future and the future of the country," said SBS Dean Ed Donnerstein.

For more on the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences, go online at


Resources for the media

Lori Harwood
SBS communications coordinator