McCray Wins Academic Medical Librarian of Year Award

Aug. 25, 2000

Jeanette C. McCray, deputy director of the Arizona Health Sciences Center Library, is this year's recipient of the Estelle Brodman Award for the Academic Medical Librarian of the Year.

Established in 1986, this award given by the Medical Library Association (MLA) recognizes an academic medical librarian at the midcareer level who demonstrates significant achievement, leadership potential, and continuing excellence.

A distinguished member of the Academy of Health Information Professionals (AHIP), McCray is a founding member and past president of the Arizona Health Information Network (AZHIN), a nonprofit, statewide consortium of more than 30 health-related institutions designed to improve information access for clinicians and health sciences students. Her efforts have enabled participating libraries to Mfill AZHIN's mission of outreach to health providers and students throughout the state of Arizona.

"Jeanette is the type of medical librarian who people feel fortunate to work with and for. She has a good sense of what needs to be done, is open to new ideas, and continually moves things forward so that the unknown future becomes the working present," said Dixie Alford Jones, ARIP, Medical Center Library, Louisiana State University Medical Center, Shreveport, in her nomination of McCray for the Broadman Award.

One of the association's most involved members, McCray has served as chair of numerous MLA committees including the Program and Convention Committee, the MLA News Evaluation Committee, publications committee, and the Murray Gottlieb Prize Jury. She has also served on many committees in the Medical Library Group of Southern California and Arizona.

MLA congratulates McCray on receiving this honor and applauds her many contributions to the health sciences librarianship profession.




Resources for the media