Media advisory: UArizona will confer about 8,000 degrees at Commencement

  • What: 160th University of Arizona Commencement
  • When: Friday, May 10, 7:30 p.m.
  • Where: Arizona Stadium
  • Media parking: Lot 8110 at the southeast corner of North Warren Avenue and East Sixth Street, across the street and just southeast of Arizona Stadium. 
  • RSVP: Please RSVP to Alexis Blue,, by noon Wednesday, May 8, to reserve a media credential. Credentials will be available for pickup May 10, beginning at 4:30 p.m., at Lot 8110.

TUCSON, Ariz. – University of Arizona President Robert C. Robbins will confer about 8,000 bachelor's, master's, doctoral and professional degrees at the university's 160th Commencement May 10.

The approximately 90-minute ceremony will begin at 7:30 p.m. at Arizona Stadium and will be streamed live on YouTube. About 30,000 guests attend the university's Commencement celebration each year.

Craig T. Nelson, an Emmy Award-winning actor, writer, director, producer and UArizona alumnus, will deliver the Commencement address and will be available for brief interviews prior to the start of the ceremony, between 4:45 and 5:15 p.m. on May 10. Media interested in interviewing him should email Alexis Blue, for access.

Nelson, who studied drama at the university, has become one of the most recognizable figures in American film and television. He starred in the TV show "Coach" and the 1982 film "Poltergeist," and he voiced Mr. Incredible in the Pixar superhero film "The Incredibles."

"We are so excited to celebrate the unstoppable class of 2024," said Heather Lukach, assistant vice president for presidential events and university ceremonies. "This year, our community of alumni, families and friends submitted their photos and videos of well wishes to be played for the grads. Also this year, we celebrate the tradition of cap decorating by graduates, where winning mortarboards will be featured during the event. We anticipate another great turnout for the festivities in Arizona Stadium and ask all our guests to plan accordingly to have the best experience celebrating with their graduates."

The stadium's Gate 7, at the southwest corner of the facility, will open at 5:30 p.m. for early access to the shaded west side of the stadium. All other gates will open at 6:30 p.m. Guest seating is on a first-come, first-served basis, and no tickets are required. 

The university will enforce game-day rules at all guest entrances, including the stadium's clear bag policy and using metal detectors for screening. No large bags, backpacks, or parcels will be permitted. All in-hand items must be placed in the appropriate and approved clear bag. 

More information for guests is available on the Commencement website.

Honorary degree and Alumni Achievement Award recipients

Nelson will be awarded an honorary Doctor of Fine Arts from the College of Fine Arts. He is one of six honorary degree recipients this year. This year's other recipients are: 

  • Ricardo Jasso, Doctor of Humane Letters from the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences
  • Steve Kerr, Doctor of Humanities from the College of Humanities
  • Humberto S. Lopez, Doctor of Humane Letters from the Eller College of Management
  • Bruce Taylor, Doctor of Science from the College of Agriculture, Life and Environmental Sciences
  • Ann Zwicker-Kerr, Doctor of Humane Letters from the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

The university will also recognize Eller College of Management alumni Scott Cohen and Blake Johnson as this year's Alumni Achievement Award winners. Cohen and Johnson co-founded Byte, which became the leading direct-to-consumer brand for oral care and invisible aligners. Dentsply Sirona acquired Byte in 2021 for over $1 billion. 

Read more about the honorary degree and Alumni Achievement Award recipients in the University of Arizona News article "About 8,000 degrees to be awarded at Commencement."

Student award winners

Seven outstanding graduating students will be presented awards at Commencement. The awards and their recipients are:

  • Provost Award: Taylor Cavallaro, who is graduating with a Bachelor of Science in plant sciences.
  • Robert Logan Nugent Awards: Andrew Prouty, who is graduating with a Bachelor of Science in physiology and medical sciences with honors, and Larissa Lazaro Roncador, who is graduating with a Bachelor of Arts in psychology.
  • Robie Gold Medal Awards: Shinhye Chloe Park, who is graduating summa cum laude with a Bachelor of Science in biochemistry, and Noah Weaver, who is graduating with a double major in physiology and medical science.
  • Merrill P. Freeman Medals: Nguyen Dang, who is graduating with a Bachelor of Science in food safety, and Bao "Tintin" Nguyen, who is graduating summa cum laude with honors with a Bachelor of Science in physics, astronomy and mathematics.

Read more about the student award winners in the University of Arizona News article "Seven graduating students to receive awards at Commencement."

# # #

Media contact:
University Communications