University of Arizona Dance Spring Collection

When: April 29, 2021 (All day) to May 02, 2021 (All day)
UA Dance Ensemble in “Habaneras, the Music of Cuba”

University of Arizona Dance brings its annual "Spring Collection" concert to the comfort of your home in this digital performance. The program features two guest works staged for the first time on the University of Arizona Dance Ensemble and an exciting lineup of premieres. Originally created for River North Dance Chicago, "Habaneras, the Music of Cuba" (2005), by Frank Chaves, is a vibrant and thrilling tribute to Chaves' native Cuba. A solo excerpt from Paul Taylor’s "Runes" (1975) evokes the mystical quality of the moon, the woods, and ancient artifacts. "Spring Collection" showcases new work by faculty members Christopher Compton, Tamara Dyke-Compton, Sam Watson, Marquez Johnson, Barbea Williams, Autumn Eckman, dance major Hannah Weinmaster and MFA candidate Ilana Giardina.

This performance will be available for free online and on demand. To watch, register using the link below.

Audience: All
Price: Free


Campus: Virtual


United States

Contact info & links


University of Arizona Dance School of Dance

Requests for disability-related accommodations should be directed to the event's primary contact: University of Arizona Dance